Blood, Sweat and Tears

Alright, submissions are in. Exam has been sat. Time to breathe? No! Now the final push is upon us. We are gearing up to our graduation show. The culmination of three years’ worth of critical evaluation, practical experience and theoretical instruction. *um*
As mentioned previously, I had no idea really how to present my final work. Another weakness of mine? Nah, not necessarily so. I am ok when it comes to presentation despite not being a graphic design person. But I have seen enough exhibitions to know what works and what doesn’t.
Now, I initially settled on my project for two reasons: I am interested in interior photography and can see myself working with the speciality, therefore I wanted a project that would force me to expand my (technical) knowledge of interior photography and simultaneously allowed me to build a portfolio with images from that area. Secondly I had finally come to terms with the fact that I am no fine art photographer but have more of a documentary style. Hence I wanted a proper non-art project in order to do what I do best. And I wanted to use the large format camera. Oh, that’s three reasons. 

Our two weapons are fear and surprise…and ruthless efficiency…. Our *three* weapons are fear, surprise, and ruthless efficiency…and an almost fanatical devotion to the Pope…. Our *four*… no… *Amongst* our weapons… Amongst our weaponry… are such elements as fear, surprise… I’ll come in again. (Thank you, Monty Python!)

 The trouble in the end was that there were more photos to use than space available at the exhibition. Cos what is the point of a comparative study of canteens if you only show three out of nine??? It was actually the cover design of my book that gave me the idea of using a grid composite as my exhibition work. And thus I finally present my hard work; literally drenched in blood (from scratching my shin on the LF camera), sweat (from carrying the gear around) and tears (from making silly mistakes that demanded re-shoots)… 

The images are at the printers’ and being printed as we speak write. All that remains now is to keep calm and carry on. Exciting times… 

Any Comments?

