Dry Runs

Ireland is far from dry these days. Maybe that is why I am reminiscing about Namibia even more today than usual. No, it’s also because one of my friends has just returned from a holiday in that most beautiful country. And thus I felt inspired to play a little with my Namibian holiday pics. Plus, I am at the point again where I’d much rather like to fiddle with Photoshop than study for my law exam *doh*.
Don’t get me wrong – my Namibia pics do not need any photoshopping. (Ha! There is a confident statement, eh?) But I was looking for some images that contain lots of azure blue sky and some green and red because I wanted to check out a neat little trick I learnt. How to create an infrared image in PS. 
Well, if you have never been to Namibia you might think that that is what the landscape looks like – dried out trees, brown leaves. Yellow rocks? No, the other way round – green leaves, red rocks. Even though I was there in their winter, i.e. when it is not raining and everything is pretty much dried out, Namibia was wonderfully colourful. What you see up there is an infrared effect, in the absence of a filter recreated in PS.
It’s quite an easy exercise, actually, all you need to do is invert the original image and then play in channel mixer on the red and blue channels and with hue and saturation. I am hooked – I have converted about 10 images at this stage, and I like the effect. Especially when you have cloudy scenes you get dramatic skies. The non-blue bits will come out very white and contrasty, adding an eerie, almost alien, menacing tone to the otherwise quite idyllic images. It’s worth checking out.
Any Comments?

