Department of the Interior

Hello my dears,

have you been missing me? There has been a bit of a delay, partly due to my last exam which I had to sit on Friday afternoon (media law – boy, am I glad that is over!), partly because Blogger decided to have some kind of unannounced outage for a few days which gave me a bit of a fright. Plus, and most majorly, thanks to my laptop packing it in for good. But since yours truly is using social networking to her advantage, it was not before long that replacements were offered and accepted. I am online again on a replacement laptop, widening my horizon by working with ubuntu and Gimp instead of my usual Windows and Photoshop. And a swish new PC is already ordered and will hopefully arrive here in the next few days.

In the meantime, I have turned all domestic. With the pressure of the exam gone I had to return some of my attention to my home. Yep, that meant cleaning, tidying and organising. And when everything was done, I pulled out a wide-angle lens to document the rather unusual state of tidyness and cleanliness for posterity. 

This is an extreme example (of tidyness as much as wide-angle *haha*) with the focal length down to 12mm and an exposure of six seconds at f11. I had no speedlite or proper lights and needed to use ambient lighting as it was. 

My oh my, my drawing room looks like a ball room, including a large dancefloor at the front. Believe me, it is not that large, but wide-angle distortion is the buzzword here, stretching the corners upwards and distorting the objects, plus creating a vignette. I love producing mistakes like this one, because they make me find out what I did wrong and how I can avoid them in the future. My hunch is, that I fell victim of optical vignetting here, i.e. I used an f-stop that is too small and therefore did not have the light reaching the corners of the sensor to register it during my 6 second exposure. That could’ve easily been avoided because one of the advantages of wide-angle lenses is that they tend to have greater dof, i.e. I could’ve shot with a smaller aperture no problem (especially as I was using a tripod, anyway).

On the other hand, the unintended vignetting creates an aesthetic effect that references the wide-angle distortion, even intensifies it. Let’s just say it was all intentional. (Yeah, right.)

In any case, I love interior photography. (It certainly is my justification for indulging in interior design magazines. Sounds a bit cooler than admitting that you are a luxury housewife who likes to look at lust over other people’s beautiful and styled homes…) I often wonder how the photographers take their images for all the relevant magazines out there – what lenses are they using, what kind of lighting set-ups, do they only use available light, how do they deal with the mixture of daylight and ambient light then. Well, there’s a summer project for me – find an Irish interior photographer and get an internship or assistance with him/her. 

Right, back to tidying up, then.

     

Any Comments?

