Must-Have Photo-Apps for *Proper* Photographers (totally subjective)

I’m o-hoff!!!!!!!!! Yep, I am gone. On holliers. Away from it all. But no letting up for you, dearies. I will churn out my posts even while I am on holiday. I was actually going to continue my sort-of-live posting via BlogPress, a handy app aggregator with which you can write blog posts on the iPhone. It even integrates photos and let’s you manage your postings remotely. Well, that’s if you have access to the internet while on holidays. And it turns out that my mobile provider does not have any cooperation with a French provider, hence it would have to be done via roaming and thus is effing expensive. *doh*.
So instead I am sitting here, days in advance, thinking up blog posts that will keep 2picsaweek running while I am away. I’d much rather like to spoil you (…) with up-to-date impressions of my aventure française, alas it shall not be. However, I am trying to make this kinda useful. I have decided to give you my low-down on the must-have photo apps to install on your smartphone. Mais non, I have not decided to leave marky Mark at home and to shoot only on iPhone *tuttuttut*. The camera is going to accompany me, naturéllement. But I have a few gizmos installed on the iPhone that I find quite useful when I am out and about with the 5d2. So much so that I would recommend you download them, too.
First up is FreeSpirit. This is a free iPhone app (as a rule, a miser like myself never pays for apps… except for the BlogPress app which I now can’t use *doubledoh*.) that does exactly what it says on the tin: It is a spirit level in your phone. Why do I find that useful? Maybe I am lopsided, maybe I have some kind of visual defect, but I never get my images to be straight. FreeSpirit has saved me an extra step in PS a few times, just because I aligned it with the camera (on tripod) and adjusted it to be perfectly straight. (For the Android users out there: There is a similar spirit level app available for you, too, called SpiritLevel Pro Free.)
Then there is Digital Grey Kard. I have recently been converted to using a grey card when shooting. Again, a time-saver for post-production. The app opens a 18 percent grey card on the screen of your smartphone. Incorporate that in your first image (of a series in constant lighting conditions) and use it later as a reference point for setting WB, colour and exposure. No need for a separate grey card – even though they come in handy little reflector-type shape nowadays – so cuuuute. (I did search for an Android-compatible version of this but it does not seem to exist, yet. Sorry, my poor little cousins…;-))
I won’t really suggest you get yourself a lightmeter app. Modern cameras all come with in-built TTLs, so need for that anymore. Unless you shoot with an old, analog manual, possibly. For that purpose, I recommend the free Pocket Light Meter app. (Android has several on offer, too, e.g. Light Meter. Free, of course.)
I am much more excited about the last app I am going to showcase here: gps4cam. Confession up-front: I have not put it to the test yet, but that is exactly what I am going to do on my holidays now. Anyhow, gps4cam helps you geo-tag your images. It basically localizes all the pictures you have taken with your digital camera through recording your coordinates on your GPS-enabled smartphone. You only set off the app once at the start of your photo excursion and then it records all the GPS data automatically. No synchronising with your camera needed. You merge the data afterwards with the help of a specifically generated QR code once you have downloaded your images onto your hard drive. gps4cam is currently not available for Android but apparently under construction. But ooops – it does come with a price. € 1.99 in iTunes.
Right, that concludes today’s journey into Gizmoland. A perfect combination of my love for photography and my day-job as a gadget tracker… ehm… online journalist. Salut!
3 thoughts on “Must-Have Photo-Apps for *Proper* Photographers (totally subjective)

  1. Sethasaurus

    Aw, it just remembered it doesn't have that fancy TTL metering either.
    A friend pointed out that the viewfinder was mirrored left/right. I said “No it isn't”. He said “Yes it is. Look…”.
    Actually , it is but I think my brain just adapted to the reversal. Weird!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jörg

    What do you think about the gps4cam app? Does it really work and do as it says on the tin? I am looking forward to get this for Android…

    Like

    Reply

Any Comments?

