Let’s Lower the Tone

Hehe, have I got your attention? As much as I like innuendo, this is actually a rather harmless, G-rated post. All I want to do, is discuss toning on the 5d2. 
Marky Mark is a brilliant toy for passing time. When I found myself at loose ends the other day, I decided to foray into the settings of the 5d2 a bit and see what I could break discover. I had wanted to try out the monochrome settings, anyway, so I fiddled with the menu until I finally happened upon the “Picture Style” settings. Scroll down in that and you get the choice between Standard, Portrait, Landscape… and Monochrome. Tada!! That’s the one that I want. 
Whatever for, I hear you ask. Sure, the safest thing to do is shoot RAW at all times. That preserves all information in a large data file and lets you do all your changes in PS. However, I do sometimes find myself knowing that I want to take a picture only in b/w. It would save you a step in post-production, if you shoot the image with the in-camera monochrome settings, so there. 
Anyhoooooo, I was on my discovery trip through the 5d2 menu and decided to press the buttons as much as I could. And lo and behold, pressing the “Info” button (on marky Mark’s back) while on the monochrome tab, opened up a whole new world of effects. Within the monochrome menu you can set the Sharpness, Contrast, Filter effects and Toning effects. The latter was what caught my attention. And the results of it you can see in the image above – sepia, blue, green and purple.
Yep. Gimmick. I don’t really see myself using green tones on my b/w images, let alone purple. Don’t know what that would be useful for. Sepia is quite nice, but in my case produces a rather yellowy tone which I do not really like. 
But hey, good to know it is there. It doesn’t hurt to try and test it. And here is a little word of warning. If you shoot RAW only with the applied toning effects, your purply shot will not transfer from the camera to the PC. At least not if you are importing via Lightroom. The thumbnail on your camera may show you a monochrome image, but the RAW data file contains all the image information and thus will have recorded the image in all its natural colour glory. Only a JPEG image will be saved as a monochrome (including the chosen toning effect). 
Right, that concludes the lowered tone. Back to high and mighty next time.
Any Comments?

