Musings on Flickr

Anybody use flickr? I do. Frequently. But at this stage it has merely become an online photoalbum where I host the pictures which I later link into my blogposts. How mundane, when it all started so romantically…

I discovered flickr in early 2006 through two friends and immediately got hooked. Initially, I started out on the free flickr, but reached my limit after about a week. The Pro Account was the only solution, and certainly boosted my ego with its association of “serious photo buff”. Ha! *huffs* Seriously, though, I think, if it hadn’t been for flickr, I would not be where I am now with photography. When I started out, I was using a non-digital SLR (Canon eos) and an old, simple Olympus digital C-150. I had my SLR-photos on disc and so was able to load some stuff up. The response I had was so unexpected and good, that flickr had me enthralled. I had not expected to receive comments so quickly – well, I didn’t know how flickr worked, I suppose – and it became a major motivation to take photos which others would find worthy for comment. I believe that flickr is another case in point that the internet can be far from anonymous and individualistic as there is an awful lot of interaction possible.
On a more personal level, flickr turned out to be hugely inspiring for my photography. Or rather – the people on flickr and their photographic endeavours became an inspiration. I saw interesting things images there every day which spurned me on to be creative, too. It made me realize that I CAN be creative at the push of a button – literally.
My passion for photography blossomed. I booked myself into a photography course with a good friend, I started buying accessories… Oh, and most importantly, I got myself a digital SLR *grins*. Nothing else would do, so back then I bought a Canon eos 350d which I loved dearly.
Six years down the road flickr has lost its lustre. What impressed me back then is not quite so awe inspiring anymore since I have learnt how to take interesting and technically acceptable photos myself. Moreover, it quickly became clear to me that the number of comments, views and favorites is not necessarily an indication of truly good photography – but merely a sign that the photographer is good at using social media. I have given up the hunt for comments and favorites. It is more important for me now to finish a project to my own expectations and standards than to produce yet another golden sunset which attracts 500 pink stars. How arrogant of me. That’s what a college education does to you – too posh to push (the shutter release).
– Posted on Tour, using BlogPress from my iPhone

Any Comments?

