F*ck it, Dude, Let’s Go Studying

Oh how lucky they are. Those who are going back to college these days. Did I ever think I would say that? YES, I did. Because I have always loved college. First time ’round, second time ’round. And now that my BA is over, I am missing it dearly.

I have immersed myself in sentimentalities – looking into my old visual diary from three years ago when I started my photography degree. It was a bit of a coincidence, to tell you the truth. Here is my “testimony”.

The economic crisis hit me in mid-2009. I was made redundant from my job in a large, US-American corporation which I had held for three and a half years and during the course of which I actually had experienced something of a “career”. Nonetheless I had already been contemplating a change, when the wave of redundancies crashed over me. I was shocked for about five minutes. And then it dawned on me that I could take this “rejection” as a gift – or maybe as a hint from the universe to finally do what I really want to do. I started a blog. On crafting *LOL*.

Over the course of that summer I was taking loads of photos for my blog – and for myself, now that I had so much time. And one day the idea formed in my head, that I should actually make another attempt at studying photography. My redundancy package was generous and offered me the financial freedom to do so. I set about searching for photography courses in Dublin. I wanted more than just an amateur course – I wanted commitment. Something medium-term. And I was delighted when I came across a one-year Diploma in Photographic Media in a Dublin college. And I was even more delighted when I found out, that there was no portfolio needed to gain a place on the course, but that you could apply online without much effort, simply by filling out a form.

“F*ck it, dude, let’s go studying” I thought to myself. And without any further discussion with my family, I applied, thinking, I could always decline the place on the course if my family thought they couldn’t spare me. It was the 12th of June 2009. Five days later received a letter of offer. The rest is history… but will be continued in this testimony, SOON.

I leave you with the last known picture taken BEFORE I started my degree in photography.


2 thoughts on “F*ck it, Dude, Let’s Go Studying

  1. boliviainmyeyes

    🙂 yeap, I don't even remember when I said 'F*ck it, Dude, Let's Go Studying' to myself but I know what you feel missing college. I still, even after 2 years remember how cool was to meet with you guys almost every evening of the week:) I probably got better after half a year when I stopped passing Grffith going to/from work.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Sonja

    Sweet memories, eh, Danu? Going back to college was one of the best decisions of my life. Soppy though it may sound, but I appreciate all the friends I have made there.

    Like

    Reply

Any Comments?

