The Pursuit of Loneliness

Panic gripped me on Thursday. I had realised the night before in college that we are very close to our deadlines. And despite best intentions, I always end up panicking in the run-up to deadline week. You would have thought that a sprightly pensioner as myself would have learnt from her time spent in college first time ’round. Well, no, I haven’t. I am still a last minute girl. I keep telling everyone that “I need the pressure in order to produce the work.” But here is the truth: More often than not I am fuseling because I keep putting off dealing with the people who are needed for my projects.
In this case it was the people from whom I need permission to shoot what I am planning to shoot. I did eventually pluck up the courage to call the people in question. And was more than relieved, if not elated!, that they were actually delighted that I would choose their property for a photography project. I have settled on Wicklow Lighthouse as the architectural structure I would like to portray for my Large Format class. It is a historic building, built in 1781!, and situated in a scenic spot. It is nicely tall (good for playing with the camera movements!) and best of all: it’s not round but octagonal, which will facilitate a little bit of Scheimpflug much better than a circular structure.
To get back to Thursday – I made it down to Wicklow Lighthouse with the intention of shooting the outside. But to my surprise and utter delight I bumped into the housekeeper who invited me in and allowed me two hours to shoot the interior of the lighthouse. I shot four images inside – which took me nearly two hours. I did it all on my own – the loneliness of the large-format-photographer is slowly growing on me, even though I did miss a second opinion and pair of eyes to point out mistakes or angles or wrong settings.
And I loved the lighthouse – so romantic, so lonely, so cosy. And thus I leave you with a photograph I took in there, that describes the lighthouse on so many levels. It speaks of its structure, its situation in the landscape and it also touches rather evocatively on the possible solitude of the place – by contrast.
Cuddle up
Any Comments?

