Happy Valentine’s Day

Let’s be topical. It’s Valentine’s Day today. Not that I take much notice of it. Just another artificial holiday for Hallmark to sell more cards. Or could it be that I am the most unromantic woman ever? Well, I’ll give you a Valentine’s pic, though.

Prince Lionheart

This is another example of some Photoshop-ping. Apart from cropping the image and hiding some nasty lines of the wall, I also had to clean up the lion. Eagle eyes can probably spot where I used the clone stamp tool. Some silly eejit racist had written the words “jew” onto the lions leg. Whatever for, I do not know, but it ruined the image. Graffiti is a nice photo subject, but not if it is offensive and criminal. And so I “rubbed” the word out of the image.

It’s truly great what you can do with PS. (And what I am capable of doing is only the tip of the iceberg.) We learned a few tricks in college last year, but I have to say that I draw the line at beautifying the people whom I photograph. Well, ok, I’d probably mercifully and graciously delete a nasty red zit from their face, but I wouldn’t turn a frown into a smile or rub out a permanent mole or even out the freckles. It’s all part of the sitter’s look and personality. Beautifying is sanitising and altering beyond recognition. Purist, me? Yeah. How far would you go, though?

Right, then, if you are off to your Valentine’s dinner tonight, have fun – surely looooads of interesting conversations to eavesdrop on, considering that you’ll be sitting on someone else’s lap the way they are cramming the tables on a night like this. And don’t go too far, kids!!!

Any Comments?

