Pay it Forward, Guys!

You all know I am a sucker for Facebook. And it was in my beloved social network, also subject of my on-going photo-project “Anti?social Media“, that I saw this great idea posted last week. Essentially it was a call to commit to giving a hand-crafted item to five friends. I cried “here” immediately. And then I thought – why don’t I suggest this as a specific photography challenge?

 
Admittedly – the motivation for this wonderfully altruistic scheme (what a good human being I am…) is not altogether unselfish! Thing is: I love collecting other people’s photos. Not that I have much of a collection, yet. I have bought photos occasionally when I was able to afford it – at amateur exhibitions and auctions. But I often thought during the last year in college, that it was such a shame I did not have any of my fellow students’ work. There were so many photos there which I admired – original ideas, fantastic vistas, brilliant bokehs. Plus they would make such nice mementos of my time in college – and of the talented people who produced them. Of course I never plucked up the courage to suggest a picture swap. (I do not like to assume that anybody would want my stuff in exchange for their great work… aw, Modesty is my middle name!)

So here is the deal:  Pay it forward 2011: 

I promise to send a 8×10 print of one of my pictures to the first 5 people who leave a comment here. They must in turn post this and send one of their own to the first 5 people who comment. Where you post it – whether it is on your private Facebook wall, on your Facebook Page or in your blog – doesn’t matter. The rules are only that you promise to send on an image that you have the rights to and it must be sent to your 5 people sometime in 2011.

I mean it, guys. Drop me a comment here in the blog – and you are in. Let’s grow our photo collections! But don’t forget, you must also post this and pay it forward.

PS: Gee, I hope I will get replies to this at all. Otherwise this will look pretty dumb *um*…

Any Comments?

